..The Right of the People

So, why this blog.  I began shooting with my grandfather when I was a kid.  He taught me very simple gun safety, and it was just something fun to do when I would visit him in western Kansas.  Honestly I wasn’t very good.  But Grandpa would always take us to the range.  It was something he had done for many years.

Grandpa shot black powder in local shoots.  Most were for fun, but he did not go to the more competitive shoots.  It was something he loved; he even had his own buckskin mountain man outfit he wore that he had crafted himself.  Grandpa’s had many hobbies and one was working with leather.

He also made toy wooden guns for my cousins and I.  He traced outlines on wood, cut them with a jigsaw, and even beveled the edges for comfort.  It was very sad the day they became too small for my hands.  He had even crafted me a leather belt with a holster and bullet loops and made small little wooden bullets for me to give it an authentic look.

My Mother had one gun in the house for many years.  We never used it, but I know it made her feel safer knowing that in emergency, it was at least an option.  I saw it, knew exactly where it was, even as a kid.  I never played with it, never pulled it out of the draw to use as a toy. Something like that never crossed my mind.

When I was 18, I joined the Marines.  I realized then how bad of a shot I was.  I was doing horribly during qualification week and I was becoming concerned about being recycled because I would not be able to qualify with my weapon.  I ended up passing with the bare minimum score.  I was very thankful, but I realized that I would need to get better.  And I did nothing about it.

I was in the reserves and in the two years I was there, I never once went to the range.  I got more trigger time when I joined Army ROTC than I did with the Marine Reserves.  But going to the range once in the spring and once in the summer does not give you the time to get good at shooting.

My senior year of College, I was working at the local Bi-Mart and got promoted from cashier to the sporting goods an automotive department.  I worked at the gun counter.  I learned a little bit more about rifles, shotguns, and ammunition.  Eventually, I bought my first gun, a Rossi Break Action Matched pair .223/12Ga.  This would be my only gun for many, many years.

As my Army career progressed, I got better with the M16 and M4, and would no longer scrape the bottom of the qualification limit, and occasionally, I would shoot good enough to make Sharpshooter.  But that all came to a halt when I switched over to the M9. My Pistol skills were horrible.  I UNQed more times than I care to count, and was back to just getting by on my qualifications, which was embarrassing for a company commander.  Finally, I decided to do something about it.  In 2012 I acquired a Ruger Sr22, a .22LR pistol that I could take to the shooting range and practice as often as I wanted.  When I returned from my deployment, I also acquired an M&P Shield in a .40S&W.  I was going to the range about twice a month, and was no longer limited by my 10 rounds familiarization and 30 round to qualify.  I was a target shooter, and I was loving it.

Today, I have maxed out the score on back to back pistol qualification, I understand fundamentals of shooting, and I have been approached about advice on which gun to buy next from others in my section at work.

The point of all of this is that I have been around guns for most of my life.  But not once did I not respect what a gun was or what it represented. It was dangerous, and to be treated with care.  I’ve seen too many young Marines and Soldiers have a negligent discharge.  But I never once though the solution was to ban them.  But the more I learned about guns, run rights, and the gun control movement, the more and more I realized how little those who seek to ban guns understand about them.

The argument is always the same.  Guns are evil, and I don’t need to learn about them to know that.  But many of the followers of gun control movements are not doing the research on guns to back up their position.  They repeat talking points or skewed statistics and use dramatic language to try and make their point.  All of which come crashing down as soon as you look at the facts behind their claims.

This all came to a head when I watched a compilation video of Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America supporters appearing before the Texas Legislature to oppose a campus carry initiative.  As the video shows, not one of these individuals has an original thought.  They show up, read a script, and most have probably never been exposed to guns or researched the claims Moms Demand Action is asking them to repeat.

The second video I watched showed a woman giving misleading testimony to the legislature to use the death of her husband to push their agenda.  I just want to ask Moms Demand Action one question, if their cause is so noble and just, why do they need to lie about it?

I decided to write this blog to look at the gun control movement and what they are saying.  Most of what is written needs revision, and it is amazing how few media outlets have someone with the least bit of familiarity with firearms to ensure that they use the correct language.  I will do this for them and correct what they are saying because when you look at their argument in real terms without all the dramatic embellishments, it is empty.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-eBWqAgD5A Thank you to Lone Star Gun Rights

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2xuLczHV1M Thank you to Open Carry Texas

 

Leave a Reply

